There Are Two Cases Against You After You’ve Been Arrested for DUI

DUI cases in and around Winnebago County, IL, aren’t black and white. There’s a world of gray to consider. Breath testing or blood testing can come back over .08, but there can be mitigating circumstances that an experienced and effective DUI lawyer in Rockford, IL, might use to drop the charge to reckless driving or even obtain a dismissal or not guilty verdict.

The Criminal Case and the Case Against Your License

When a person is arrested for DUI in Illinois, two separate proceedings are triggered. The first is the criminal court case. Misdemeanor DUI is punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. Then there is the case against the defendant’s driver’s license by the Secretary of State. That suspension is going to be for at least six months. Unless you challenge that suspension, it will be automatic, even if you’re found not guilty of the DUI charge.

Proving That You Were Under the Influence

In Illinois, the prosecution is likely to rely on four points of evidence when attempting to prove you guilty of driving under the influence of alcohol.

  • You didn’t appear to be driving in a safe and careful manner.
  • There was an odor of an alcoholic beverage, and in the opinion of the police officer who made the traffic stop, you appeared to be intoxicated.
  • You failed field sobriety tests.
  • Breath or blood testing showed a blood alcohol concentration in excess of .08 grams of alcohol per deciliter of blood.

Every one of the above types of evidence can be taken apart bit by bit and reduced to speculation by a DUI lawyer in Rockford, IL, from the Crosby Law Firm. If you have been arrested for DUI in or around Rockford, you need to start setting up your defense right away. You can call us to arrange for a free consultation and case review or use our easy contact form.

2 people like this post.
Be Sociable, Share!
    Shares